Skip to content

The Wrong Major

October 16, 2010

I’m looking to complete my Policy Analysis and Management minor next semester and I’m fervently thanking God that I managed to surpass Cornell restrictions and transfer majors last semester.

Even though that meant that I only have 3 semesters to complete a full degree, in another college (which means many sleepless nights and overloading of credits per semester to an almost sadistic amount), I have found my semesters in a major I absolutely adore much more enjoyable than those pain-ridden 3 semesters I spent as a PAM major. So sue me, but I cannot imagine studying something I do not love.

At the risk of sounding like a geek, my main derivation of joy comes from waking up every morning knowing that I will enjoy my classes and having something to contribute and more importantly, something to take away.

For the first time in my life, I love school! I mean, I have always loved going to school for some reason or another, whether it means meeting new people or because of that one particular, sometimes elusive class (In RGS, Social Studies – believe it or not (hoho), and in AC it was History, Economics and Physics). But now I enjoy every moment (yes, even Japanese, you evil harbinger of stress, you.)!

Well, why did I go into a self-indulgent monologue? Just yesterday, I was looking at the possible PAM classes that I could take next semester to finish up my minor and I finally, after long deliberation, picked one. Then it struck me, just picking ONE class was already such a pain – what more about being a major in that department?

Phew.

Thank God for the ability to indulge in an ‘impractical’ major just because I have interest in the subject without (too much) concern for job prospects, thank God for the opportunity Cornell provided me by picking me out among the many candidates to head on an expenses-paid summer to Korea, thank God for the wonderful professors and classroom experiences I have had the past year, thank God for this opportunity to go from a situation where I felt as though I wanted to be done with my major ASAP to a situation where I wish I could finish up all the classes offered by the department, thank God for the friends I have made through my classes along the way. I feel as though I haven’t truly reflected on how innumerably blessed I am in a long, long while. It’s so easy to get carried away by daily worries that you realise you haven’t stopped and smelled the roses for a long time.

So do stop now and then and write a thank you note! It’ll cheer you up. 🙂

 P.S. Was just talking to a friend who commented how I don’t post photos up on facebook. That is very true. I have maybe 4000 photos accumulated over the past few months. I will post them up, because facebook is the only way that people know you exist and have a life. ( Speaking of which, did any of you read Malcolm Gladwell’s article on social media in The New Yorker last week? Yang, if you are still reading this, you should read that article! Coincidentally, that was the first New Yorker I bought – so glad I chose that over Teen Vogue, woohoohoo.)

I WILL POST PHOTOS ON FACEBOOK. I HAVE A LIFE!

xx

2 Comments leave one →
  1. abby permalink
    October 22, 2010 9:48 pm

    SOCIAL STUDIES?!!! YOU MEAN YOU ENJOYED HEARING “SSSHHHHH” 120 TIMES AN HOUR?!! HAHAHA

    • October 26, 2010 3:15 am

      HHAHAHAHAHA i enjoyed the material leh, tbh. do you know belinda and i ever counted the number of SHHHHs she made in one lesson. i still remember. one hundred and thirty nine times!!!

Leave a Reply

