Skip to content

My First Blind Date

April 4, 2010

So, he wasn't exactly what I was looking for...

So, yes, the heading is true.  I went on my first ever blind date. SHOCKING! Part of Cheryl subscribed to a facet of American popular social culture!

So here’s the thing. I’m taking this class that’s essentially about Korean Film and Gender. It’s a huge class, probably around 80-odd, and the Professor came up with a brilliant plan to get us to interact more. And what better way to accomplish that than by setting up random couples on blind dates? She initially intended for 3 couples and had finished selecting them (I even exchanged sympathetic looks with one of the first “victims”) but once she headed to the front, she looked at me and jokingly was like, “Cheryl, you want one? You want a date?” To which I vehemently shook my head. And of course, that was the signal for her to be filled with kindness and mercy and actually set me up on a date. (I reaaaaally didn’t want to, because it meant writing an additional “date report” and 2 hours of meeting time, and I’m already up to my neck in work. )

To be honest, I was dreading the prospect of going on a blind date with a fellow student. Simply because who hasn’t watched or heard of one sort of tragic comedy or another where blind dates ended up as absolute catastrophes? Except now, the comedy was my life and I was the hapless participant. Even worse, the parties in those bad blind dates in the movies usually had enough space to avoid each other after the failed encounter either by simple maneuvers like changing phone numbers or moving to another state but those were no options for me. In fact, I could potentially be stuck with the prospect of awkward encounters twice a week for the rest of the semester in ASIAN 336 and PHYS 123 (he was in not one, but two of my classes!) – there would be no escape. Of course, James looked extremely harmless so I tried to think on the bright side – no one else I know has ever had their first blind date set up by their professor, and in any case, it’s an amusing anecdote to add on to my archive of collegiate memories to recount to my grandchildren, if I ever have the grand fortune to have any.

I felt kind of bad feeling so reluctant to go on a blind date, so it was an extreme relief when at the end of our meeting, I asked James how he felt about the date initially and he candidly told me that he felt the same way too. It is common knowledge that there is no better way to facilitate a good foundation for a platonic relationship than the utter lack of interest in the other party from the get-go.

But jokes aside, I felt that our meeting was a good experience. There were hardly any awkward pauses and the date acts as a good excuse to ask nosey questions about the other party with no boundaries, questions that you usually would consider too personal on a first encounter, under the guise of “getting to know each other better”, although he’s not my type.

It really wasn’t that bad, and I made a new friend. Maybe you guys should try it too.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Claire permalink
    April 4, 2010 7:04 pm

    What did you wear and do?

  2. April 10, 2010 11:42 am

    I have been picked too…lol

  3. feli permalink
    April 26, 2010 11:44 pm

    WOW CHERYLLLLLLLLLLLLL HEEEHEEE SO CUTE 🙂

Leave a Reply

