Skip to content

Where I’ll be this summer

March 25, 2010

Guess where??

I’ve known this since last Friday but I’ll be heading to Seoul this summer! Crazy huh (: I got informed by Cornell last week that I have been selected to be the awardee of their travel grant to Korea – I think ~4 others are headed to China and Japan but I’ll be all alone in Korea!

Of course to be sponsored for my stay, I need to do something in return for Cornell- I’ll be keeping a daily diary (which means I’ll be blogging alot!) and taking loads of photographs, studying intensive Korean and doing my own sociology research on declining marriage and fertility rates. Which means I’ll be a photojournalist of sorts? More than fine by me (and my Nat Geo aspirations)! Yup, going to be a really busy summer but I’m sooo looking forward to it! That said, I still have to arrange and register for my flights and the programs and interviews yada yada so I’ll be superrrr busy this semester.

Speaking of semester, check out my next semester’s scheduleee! :

Hahahaha wtheck right?! I couldn’t find a space to fit in my PAM class (cos SOMEHOW all my classes next sem are squeezed into the afternoon, geez. I really prefer morning classes so I can go home earlier but owells.) so I was like, “Ah, whatever. Let’s just try to fit in as many classes as possible”. So when this schedule came out I was like, “Oh man, I’m screwed. Confirm 10 credits only!” Because I’m currently taking 24 credits and I already start at 9am everyday and end at 410pm on 3 days and I have a night lab on another day that ends at 10pm so this schedule looks damn slack in comparison! (Although I don’t think it’ll be slack at all. I’m in a seminar class this semester which meets once a week and it’s one of the most challenging classes I’ve taken.)

So imagine my utter disbelief and ecstasy when I saw this schedule is 20 credits?!!?! Plus I’ll be doing honors next semester so it’s essentially 24? Wow, God must be really watching out for me lol and trying to make my schedule as shiok as possible so I won’t die from the honors workload. Sheesh, I’ll have a 4 day weekend leh, something I never NEVER thought I’d experience. Sorry if I’m just going on and on about something that’s not particularly relevant but I’m just super delighted when I saw this yesterday hahaha.

And the thing is once I transferred to Asian Studies, the department suddenly, unbelievably has ALOT of classes for selection, despite the budget cuts. So strange huh!? Maybe all the profs came back from their research leave or something.  (I’m so glad I transferred majors, man! The PAM selection is measly!) I checked out the past few years and saw only like 10 classes each semester. Now it’s like 20 or something awesome like that! AHHHH 😀 And all these classes are new and taught by really great profs apparently (ratemyprofessor.com says so and we know that that’s the Ultimate Authority, right? Haha :p), like Architecture of Asia? Chinese film?! HOW COOL IS THAT. Actually I really wanted to take 20th century Chinese literature but it clashes (AGAIN!). Gunn teaches both film and literature so at least I’m taking one of his classes.

Although I wish he would have taught his Great Chinese Narratives (红楼梦,三国演义,孙悟空)this semester cos I don’t think I’ll be able to take it before I graduate. Owells, I’m sure the Chinese film class will be fun too. Haha, I know I’m babbling but I’m just so excited lah. Just ignore me. Thank God for all He’s doing ^^

4 Comments leave one →
  1. twotehtarik permalink
    March 26, 2010 9:55 am

    HELLO CHERYL AM DROPPING BY NICE TO READ YOUR BLOG =D

  2. xinzi permalink
    April 25, 2010 9:15 pm

    i dunno why i decided to follow u on facebook and ended up on your blog. and i dunno if you even rmb me… but anyway i just wanted to say that I’m super envious that you’re going to korea for summer! I myself want to go to korea but it’ll be a while before I can do that and it’ll be just for fun. haha I’ll be in New York this summer, I can’t wait. last time I was in New York was when I was 3 or 4?

    • April 26, 2010 5:04 am

      @xinzi: yesyes i rmb you! you’re in the UK now on ASTAR right? Hahaha what will you be coming to NY for- holiday? It’s an amazing city, but a bit too polluted for me. But you can find anything and everything there (:

  3. xinzi permalink
    April 26, 2010 2:24 pm

    yepyep, i guess u learnt that fr the other astar peeps there? i’m going to be at Rockefeller U on attachment so i’m pretty excited. haha i must be some city girl going from one big city to another big city.

Leave a Reply

