Skip to content

Who Moved My…

October 4, 2009

冰皮月饼???(snowskin mooncake???)

mooncakesI swear my parents are on a torture-our-darling-daughter campaign. I have received 3 separate emails over the past 2 weeks detailing every single snowskin mooncake my mum’s office got/dad bought back from Thailand/some atas hotel was having a sale on. Durian snowskin? Check. Mocha snowskin? Check. Matcha snowskin? Check, check, check.

As I dig into my hastily-made breakfast (raisin bran & milk, how fancy.) while pouring over my multitudes of computing Stata problem sets and reading, this abject loss of snowskin mooncakes seems ever more significant. I even traipsed down to the Singaporean super mart (yes, there is one in Ithaca, land of the deer.) to unearth mooncakes and there WERE! But lousy brown crusty ones from NYC’s Chinatown – nothing to shout about. Maybe one of these days I’ll get so desperate I will actually scurry down to buy one of those overpriced ugly mounds. Oh and trivia of the day – Koreans do celebrate the lunar festival too, except their mooncakes are in a crescent form because to them…the best is yet to be. (haha lameduck, my apologies. (; )

In other news, my friend bought me a necklace for my birthday which just arrived in the mail today. I’m wearing it of now and absolutely loving it!

thislandIsn’t it a BEAUTY??? :DDDD!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 5:32 am

    I don’t even know its that time of the year…

  2. October 5, 2009 1:30 pm

    Nice pendant!

  3. October 5, 2009 1:34 pm

    Woah wait what? There’s a Singaporean super mart in Cornell?????? Like legit Singaporean?
    Wahlao….

  4. October 5, 2009 6:47 pm

    @Jiesheng: lol (: i wouldn’t have if not for the emails
    @auto: thanks! 😀
    @Y: yup, it’s run by these two old singaporeans who moved here 26 years ago because they wanted the four seasons and a quiet, homey town. they have yeos, kopiko and white rabbit sweets, sotong balls etc haha

Leave a Reply

