Skip to content

Once Again I Say Amen

September 23, 2009

I think every semester in university, there comes a point where a little part of me dies under the tremendous workload, among other stuffs, and I realise that I cannot do this all by my own strength. It’s a very timely reminder because I think the business of my life in such a secular environment is distracting me from the cross.

I think no matter what, I have to remember to thank God for all His blessings and assurances that He’s still faithful, good and true. I’m dropping my Introduction to American Politics class, because I decided that reading nearly 500 pages of political theory, literature and historical expositions a week would be slightly hard to accomplish, along with my other workloads.

One day, I saw this ad:

I am looking for a paid research assistant to help me collect historical information about dictatorships. The student must have excellent writing and analytical skills. Social science research experience is preferred, but is not required if the student has a record of outstanding academic achievement in related coursework. Juniors and seniors preferred, though sophomores will be considered in exceptional cases. The student must also be highly self-motivated since the research will allow the student to work independently. Please send an electronic copy of your transcript, your resume, and a statement of interest to ______@_____.edu”

Before I sent in my application, I prayed and told God to withhold it for me if He thinks I wouldn’t have the time.  I received news just a couple of days ago that I’ve been selected for a paid Research Assistant position under the government department studying dictatorships (yes, IB History actually paid off!) and I was thinking of going on with my course load as per normal even though I was already slightly overwhelmed. He gave me a wake-up call yesterday when for the first time in 3 weeks, I attended Government lecture (!Yes! I actually pontanged class – not proud of it.) and my friend suddenly asked me about the progress on my “paper”.

I swear, I went,”Huh?”

Her smile faded and she was like, “Cheryl, you’re kidding right? It’s due Thursday.”

So apparently, I’m supposed to read 300 pages about the U.S. Constitution and write about it in a 5 page long report in oh, 24 hours. So after battling with it (‘cos it’s a required course) the whole of last night, I have decided to drop it and take it another time. I think it’s really God’s grace and His gentle reminder that it’s time for me to slow down and remember his faithfulness. Thank God for helping me make the decision, if not I would have killed myself every week with the reading and research!

Plus, I really feel that God’s hand was in this selection. Firstly, the deadline for application appeared to be over when I wrote in to the Prof for an inquiry. Second, this was a competitive process and there are only 2 of us selected (initially to be only 1, so praise God again). Third, I’m a sophomore so the chances were slim already. The other Research Assistant who got selected alongside me has an amazing CV (as with alot of other Cornellians); mine completely pales in comparison to her. She’s a junior who is currently interning with the White House and was involved in the Obama campaign trail in 2 states and in Charlie Brown’s campaign into Congress. I can tell that this girl totally loves politics and the US government. Me? I’m just an ordinary international student, doing this because I would love to read historical data about dictatorships and the only White House I’ve seen is on my money.

So I’m totally grateful to being granted this opportunity, hopefully I can perform in it and bring all the glory to God. (: Shan’t be complacent and such a slacker anymore!

Praise You in This Storm
words by Mark Hall/music by Mark Hall and Bernie Herms

I was sure by now,God, that You would have reached down
and wiped our tears away,
stepped in and saved the day.
But once again, I say amen
and it’s still raining
as the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain,
“I’m with you”
and as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise
the God who gives and takes away.

Chorus:
And I’ll praise you in this storm
and I will lift my hands
for You are who You are
no matter where I am
and every tear I’ve cried
You hold in your hand
You never left my side
and though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

I remember when I stumbled in the wind
You heard my cry to You
and raised me up again
my strength is almost gone how can I carry on
if I can’t find You
and as the thunder rolls
I barely hear You whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
and as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise
the God who gives and takes away

Chorus

I lift my eyes onto the hills
where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth
I lift my eyes onto the hills
where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 6:03 am

    Haha, I can see that you are going through many things that won’t kill you but will make you stronger…

  2. Jiesheng permalink
    September 24, 2009 3:49 pm

    ditto

  3. September 25, 2009 10:11 pm

    Hahaha yeah, thank God. I’m actually researching on Siad Barre right now and apparently it’s one dictator a week so I think this research position is going to be an independent study on world history – which is fabulous!

Leave a Reply

