Skip to content

I breathed the same air as Federer.

September 12, 2009

I just came back from my very first ceramics class! It was extremely fun and I actually threw my first avant garde cylinder thing. I can’t wait to do more stuff, glaze them and everything. (: I’ve wanted to do it since I worked with a Malay encik art teacher who studied under Ishkandar for 15 years – we got on really well and he was working with wayward children by teaching them patience and creativity through pottery so I sat in and taught the kids all I know about art (which isn’t much) – fashion illustration and figure sketchings. Can’t wait to go back there, the studio is open from 9am to 1030pm everyday. Plus, art room access to canvases, oils etc is only $10 a semester. I love Cornell!

Anyway, the past week has been so hectic because I didn’t do anything over the last weekend (my birthday weekend) as I was in the city with some friends to do other Very Important stuffs. We watched Wicked (STUPENDOUS, EVERYONE SHOULD WATCH IT) and went for Tennis Opens!

IMG_2843

I actually got a ball that was used for practice between Ferrero & Simon! (And, yes. I managed to keep it. No, I’m not selling it on ebay.)

tennisopens

Then I got an autographed fan (thanks to SK’s persistance) from Li Na. I fell in love with her technique! She was really pushing her opponents to the edges of the court. It was a very, very smart game – and I really love that so much more than just the brute strength of so many other players.

But my favorite match of the day would be that between del Potro & Koellerer! Koeller is unseeded but MAN did he put up SUCH and a fight, and he knew how to play the crowd. The whole stadium had switched factions toward him toward the end of the 3 hour long match (which he, unseeded, obviously lost). But he is AMAZING, you have to watch that match if you can! Oh, and I caught some Fed-ex action, with my paparazzi cam!

IMG_2919

Anyway, the Cornell workload has not eased up and I have had so much nonsense to do. I’ve read my eyes out almost every single day, written reports on Cold War Aesthetics in East Asian Nations, taken a Korean test and tried to read Rey Chow’s Writing Diaspora. Oh and I did a portrait using erasers as a medium for my Art, Design & Visual Thinking class. Here it is ((: It took me about 1.5 hours, dotting the whole page full of black ink. It’s supposed to be a study of value and density.

IMG_2945

Oh well back to the grind! Stuff to do for this weekend:

  • We the People, Chapters 4 &5
  • Enduring Debate, Chapters 3 & 4, Sections 11, 12, 16, 17, 18
  • McClain & Stewart, Chapter 2
  • Cumings, The World Shakes China
  • Berger, The Battle for Asia, p. 223-279
  • Lye, America’s Asia, One World
  • Econometrics Chapter 2
  • Korean, rewrite notes & do Monday’s homework
  • Borrow G from 126C
  • Ennichi
  • Song practice with Iwan
  • Breathe.

Reminder to self, next post would be about “It’s Only in New York…”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2009 10:55 am

    That’s a melting pot of subjects with a strong Eastern flavouring

  2. September 13, 2009 1:46 pm

    you must tell me how you got the ball! hahaha. i heard it frm losh!

Leave a Reply

