Skip to content

Add/Drop Woes

August 20, 2009

For the uninformed, add-drop is a procedure in most U.S. colleges where you add the classes you want and drop those that you don’t want (d’oh?). It’s a run-of-the-mill thing you do the start of every semester.

To many, it’s a necessity. Personally, it’s a big pain in the butt. Because usually Cornell sets it at 6am American time, which means you have bleary-eyed undergraduate zombies sitting in front of their laptops at the break of dawn growling at the screen because at precisely 6:00:01am, the whole system crashes because 13,000 undergraduates are trying to log on at the same time.

You would have thought Cornell could have had the brains (and decency) to stagger it or at least do something less inhumane to us already sleep-deprived students.

So last night, I told my friends when add-drop was commencing. 7pm tonight. Easy-peasy. Singapore time, I can totally do this.

Guess what? I fell asleep. I just realised what I did when at 1:45am, I log on to facebook.com after weeks of not signing on and find out my friends were talking about add-drop in a PM thread. AUUUGHHHH! I seriously am so going to slap myself. It’s 2:45am and I’m corresponding through email with my Korean professor trying to squeeze into my section. Plus, I’ve also been blocked out of Lovenheim’s 1010am section and I just wrote a desperate email begging him to “LET ME IN, OR ELSE”.

Honestly, the worst thing I can think of about an American education would be scheduling. It’s a complicated paradox. The U.S. offers awesome flexibility and wide breadth of courses to dabble in (Especially in Cornell because it probably has literally ANY course you want to do – I did courses on Fairy Tales and Mushrooms last year and will be doing Korean and Fashion Design this semester) but it’s also the worry that I’m trying to do too much in too little time that I inadvertently miss out a critical class I need to graduate in 3 years.

Oh wells.

But I know at the end, it’s all worth it and I wouldn’t have it any other way. (:

/Edit: Settled my classes quite smoothly- they seem like lovely professors, am looking forward to next semester!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2009 5:52 am

    I woudnt know about taking every single course just for the sake of it, but across the Atlantic, its take it or exchange it.

  2. August 21, 2009 5:09 pm

    @Jiesheng: It’s not so much about taking every course for the sake of it, but the fact that there’s a choice to take classes just for the heck. (; That said, the UK system has its definite merits but right now, I’m enjoying myself across the Atlantic. Maybe one day I will be fortunate enough to experience the loveliness of the UK. 😀

  3. August 22, 2009 3:22 am

    Ah yes and there is the drawback to the intensiveness of UK modules. You just can’t pursue everything. But either wside can be fun when you build your home there.

  4. August 23, 2009 8:19 am

    Eh same thing happened at ACSI some years back when they tried online WOW registration… remember?

Leave a Reply

